Interactive artwork at Saint-Etienne

engineering college & interactive art

In the context of "1% artistique"*, the artist Konrad Loder devised an original piece of interactive art for the Saint-Etienne Telecom engineering college, and for the realisation of his idea, sought the expertise of Nokinomo.

Loder’s scheme operates via a large technical apparatus that interrogates visitors to the site. People often seek insight into the external world through the prism of a screen. But is that screen faithful to reality?

In the college entrance hall, a sculpture resembling a satellite hovers in the air. Attached is a camera that captures the scene below in real time. On the ground, a graphic configuration designates the boundaries of the interrogation, and the path for students to follow. Of the millions of pixels that form the digital camera image, only the centremost pixel is analysed.

One of the facets of the sculpture consists of a transparent hexagon, the colour of which varies constantly to match the colour of the central pixel. The satellite continuously transmits the characteristics of the central pixel to another part of the project, called the Mega Pixel.

On the glass facade of the building, facing out towards the street, the Mega Pixel, consisting of three large round unicolor LED screens (red, green and blue), transmits a version of the results to passers-by.
It thereby reveals the true nature of the pixel, which is not a pure colour but is constituted of three basic colours: red, green and blue. The digital image is a translation of reality.

*French statute requiring a minimum investment in culture and art equivalent to 1% of expenditure on civic developments.

Artist
Place
Konrad Loder
Saint-Etienne

Oeuvre interactive à Saint-Etienne

école d'ingénieur télécom st-étienne, art interactif

Dans le cadre du 1% artistique, l'artiste Konrad Loder propose une oeuvre originale et interactive au sein de l'école d'ingénieur Télécoms Saint-Etienne et fait appel à Nokinomo pour l'accompagner dans la réalisation de cette installation.

Le projet proposé fonctionne comme un immense dispositif technique qui vise à interroger le visiteur. Ce dernier appréhende le monde extérieur souvent à travers le prisme de l'écran. Or celui-ci est-il bien fidèle à la réalité ?

Dans le hall de l'école, une sculpture aux allures de satellite flotte dans les airs. Elle porte une caméra qui capte, en temps réel, la scène en contrebas. Au sol, une intervention graphique détermine les limites de la mesure et le cadre de défilement des élèves. Parmi les millions de pixels de l’image numérique issue de la caméra, seul le pixel du milieu sera retenu et traité.

L'une des faces de la sculpture présente un hexagone translucide dont la couleur varie en permanence en fonction de celle du pixel analysé. Le satellite transmet en continu les caractéristiques du pixel analysé à une autre partie du projet, appelé le méga pixel.

Côté rue, sur la façade vitrée du bâtiment, le méga pixel, constitué de trois grands écrans LED circulaires et monochromes (rouge, vert et bleu) communique le résultat de l’expérience vers le public extérieur.

Il révèle ainsi la vraie nature du pixel dont la couleur n’est pas pure mais résulte bien de trois couleurs de base : le rouge, le vert et le bleu. L'image numérique est une traduction de la réalité.

Artiste
Lieu
Konrad Loder assisté de Boris Raux
Saint-Etienne

Partagez !