Micro Nap Space

wellbeing, design & sleep

In June 2009, France Télécom-Orange opened a debate on rest at work, calling upon the services of Cité du Design commissioned designer Marie-Virginie Berbet. Based in the Vivier Merle call centre in Lyon, the aim of the study was to develop a range of facilities to offer employees the means to relax and/or rest within the work environment.

The graduated rest area designed by Marie-Virginie Berbet encompassed several approaches offering different forms of relaxation. From this broad base, the two most innovative approaches were selected by France Télécom-Orange for further trial and development: the (calm) SPACE, a micro nap and rest space, and the (calm) CHAIR, a relaxation module consisting of a chair and a light.

We were involved in Marie-Virigine Berbet’s development and creation of the (calm) SPACE.

The (calm) SPACE

The (calm) SPACE is a one-person power nap and rest capsule specially designed to create an ideal physiological environment for short naps. The capsule benefits from a range of recent scientific and medical advances, and incorporates NightCove technology. This technology produces a series of specific sound and light sequences for 10, 15 or 20 minute naps. The light wavelengths emitted in the spectrum where melatonin is secreted* are calibrated with regard to the body’s need for the sleep hormone.

*Early in the sleep cycle, the light wavelengths are chosen to help the subject fall asleep. Towards the end of the cycle, the light wavelengths emitted block the secretion of melatonin, having a stimulating effect on the organism and preparing it for a return to activity.

Client
Conception & Design
Editor
development
Place
photo
France Télécom - Orange
Marie-Virginie Berbet
Zyken
Nokinomo
Paris
Mathias Ridde

Micro-espace de sieste

bien-être, design, sommeil


En juin 2009, France Télécom-Orange lance une réflexion sur le repos au travail et fait appel au designer Marie-Virginie Berbet par le biais de la Cité du Design. Appliquée au centre d’appel Vivier Merle à Lyon, cette étude vise à développer un ensemble de solutions permettant aux salariés de trouver, dans leur environnement de travail, des moyens de se détendre et/ou de se reposer.

L'espace de repos graduel conçu par Marie-Virginie Berbet inclue plusieurs dispositifs supportant de multiples formes de détente. De cette proposition globale, France Télécom-Orange retient, pour expérimentation et développement, les deux dispositifs les plus innovants : le (calm) SPACE, micro-espace de sieste et la (calm) CHAIR, module de détente composé d’une lampe et d’un siège.

Nous avons accompagné Marie-Virigine Berbet dans l'étude et la réalisation du (calm) SPACE.

Le (calm) SPACE

Le (calm) SPACE est un micro-espace de sieste et de repos individuel spécialement conçu pour créer un environnement physiologiquement adapté à la pratique de siestes courtes.

Basé sur plusieurs avancées scientifiques et médicales récentes, ce micro-espace intègre la technologie NightCove. Cette dernière propose des séquences sonores et lumineuses spécifiquement développées pour des siestes de 10, 15 ou 20 minutes. Les longueurs d’ondes de la lumière diffusée sont calibrées pour émettre, dans des spectres permettant ou non la sécrétion* de mélatonine, l’hormone du sommeil.

*En début de séquence, les longueurs d’ondes lumineuses favorisent l’endormissement. En fin de séquence, la lumière émet dans des longueurs d’ondes bloquant la sécrétion de mélatonine, ayant ainsi des effets stimulants sur l’organisme et préparant celui-ci à retrouver son activité.

Client
Conception & Design
Editeur
Etude
Lieu
photo
France Télécom - Orange
Marie-Virginie Berbet
Zyken
Nokinomo
Paris
Mathias Ridde

Partagez !